• chuckleslord@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      1
      arrow-down
      1
      ·
      2 days ago

      Umm, the comment you’re replying to specifically says “my 5e DM”.

      And again, that’s homebrew for pathfinder, not pathfinder. There’s only rules for critical hits in pathfinder.

      • BartyDeCanter@lemmy.sdf.org
        link
        fedilink
        arrow-up
        2
        ·
        2 days ago

        Flat out wrong. Per page 400 and 401 of the Player Core, “All types of checks, from skill checks to attack rolls to saving throws, follow these basic steps.“ … “You critically succeed when the check’s result meets or exceeds the DC by 10 or more.” Furthermore, individual skill actions specifically list a crit effect, such as with Recall Knowledge which grants you additional information or a follow up question.

        Photographic proof from the rulebook attached.

        • chuckleslord@lemmy.world
          link
          fedilink
          arrow-up
          1
          arrow-down
          1
          ·
          2 days ago

          Cool. Couldn’t find it anywhere on the net that wasn’t being attributed to pf2e. Doesn’t change the fact that the guy you’re replying to said 5e (I did recall playing with this rule in PF, but again couldn’t find the rule)

    • LeninsOvaries@lemmy.cafe
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      2
      arrow-down
      1
      ·
      3 days ago

      Well you’re wrong. Nat 20 or nat 19 actually means you get to take another main action on the same turn, which can potentially also crit.