• vithigar@lemmy.ca
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    1
    arrow-down
    1
    ·
    edit-2
    3 hours ago

    In order for the specific circumstance called out by the disintegrate spell description to be possible it requires a violation of the general case, yes. That is literally the point of the “specific overrides general” rule.

    One of two things must be true for disintegrate to be able to destroy a wall of force:

    1: The Wall is targetable by disintegrate.

    2: Objects on the far side of the wall are targetable by disintegrate and the wall gets in the way.

    For “specific overrides general” to hold a DM must rule that one of these is the case, otherwise the extremely specific interaction called out in the disintegrate spell description is impossible.

    Of course as DM you can rule that this is not the case and disintegrate does not destroy a wall of force, such is the prerogative of a DM, but I am firmly of the opinion that such a ruling is not RAW.

    • jounniy@ttrpg.networkOP
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      1
      ·
      1 hour ago

      No it doesn’t need to. As there are methods to see invisible creatures or objects, you could very well rule that you need to make use of one of those effects to use this part of the spells capabilities.